Beginner's guide > Where is rum produced?

The distillation of rum takes place in numerous locations across the globe. These are spread far and wide and include such diverse locations as the Bundaberg distillery in Australia, Stroh in Austria and the Indian Ocean islands of Mauritius. However, the main regions for the production of rum are the Caribbean islands and the countries that border the Caribbean Ocean. Here, we split the rum producing nations of the Caribbean in to their three defined groups and briefly explain about each group. Naturally, there are exceptions to every rule! Further basic information about rum can be found by clicking here.

1 - Spanish speaking
These countries and islands produce a wide variety of rum styles but are most associated with the lighter white (blanco) and gold (oro) rums. These are most common on the islands of Cuba, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico plus the Central and South American countries of Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama and Venezuela.

2 - English speaking
The style of rum that these countries are most well known for are those of the darker and fuller bodied variety. These are also known as black rums. They are produced on the Caribbean islands of Antigua, Barbados, Bermuda, Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago, in addition to the Central American country of Belize and Guyana in South America.

3 - French speaking
These islands are renowned for the manufacture of rhum agricole - a style of rum that is made by fermenting sugar cane juice rather than molasses, which most other rums are made from. Islands that produce rhum agricole include Guadeloupe, Haïti and Martinique.